A Father’s Day letter to dad.

Dad caught this on Captain Phil Lillo's boat

Dad's massive Wahoo

Dad, The irony of your passing the day before Father’s Day isn’t lost on us.  I thought it was a cruel joke that God had dealt us at first. Now I understand his timing. While we miss you all the time; Father’s Day is the perfect time to reflect on our fishing trips and your legacy.

I hope you are enjoying heaven. How’s the Snook fishing up there? Do you get to see what we’re up to down here? The fishing has been has been good. It continues to surprise me how much I use what you taught me about fishing. I appreciate your sage advice.

You taught a lot of anglers how to fish. Many of them still speak of Tim’s Tackle Box and the legacy you left behind. The only way we know how to thank you is to pass that knowledge on to the next generation.

I couldn’t help but think of our many ultra light fishing trips as I fished off mom’s dock recently. Fishing four-pound line for Copper Nose, Crappie and Bass is still my favorite technique.

The one trip I’ll never forget was our Lake Davis adventure. It was the full moon in June. You drove Ron and I in the Pontiac to the east side of the lake where a half dozen other anglers were casting. We caught 64 Copper Nose in 58 minutes. You sold 36 “Tim’s Fantastic Bluegill Jigs” to those frustrated anglers between casts.

I remember you recounted the money in the cigar-box upon our arrival home. Those additional 36 one-dollar bills put the total up to $800. That money was the beginning of your tackle store.

Well I hate to rush off but I’m preparing for ICAST. I think the last one I attended with you was in Vegas. We flew back with Ray Scott and laughed all the way home. There I go again. Damn I miss you.

Say hello to Grandma, Grandpa, Slim, Verna and Chad for me.

Love,

TJ

Please take your dad fishing soon. The memories you make will last forever.

About TJ Stallings

45-year tackle industry veteran Marketing and Crazy Ideas at TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group (Home of Road Runner Lures and six hook brands including Tru-Turn, Daiichi, XPoint, Team Catfish, Mr. Crappie and StandOUT Hooks.) Home of Gun Protect. The opinions expressed in this blog are those of TJ Stallings and not necessarily those of TTI-Blakemore.
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Father’s Day letter to dad.

  1. This entry really hit home. I too lost my father on the day before Father’s day. Only it was also his birthday and we buried him on Father’s day. All this kind of makes this time of year a little rough.

    Have a great time at ICAST.

  2. TJ Stallings says:

    We only have them a little while so we have to make the most of the time we have. I hope the young fathers out there understand that.

  3. Daniel Crouse says:

    Wow! I really miss your Dad too.
    I lost my Dad 3 years ago as well.
    Happy Fathers day to my Dad and to Yours!
    Daniel

  4. John Kelly says:

    Excellent. When I was in Long Boat Key last week I saw an ultralight rod with and SL Compac reel on it. It made me think of all those time we fished in Lake Lancaster and all the wonderful time we had.

    As far as missing you Dad, you are not alone.

    John

    • tjstallings says:

      Wow. I hadn’t thought of that old Compac fishing reel in a long time. I hope we get to go ultralight fishing again soon my friend. Maybe we should plan a trip to Richmond Hill Lake to really make it a unforgettable experience? Let’s discuss this soon!

  5. mike windham says:

    TJ, a great letter to your father.
    Of course I remember him well and all the help he gave this “fishing tackle rep”.
    The funniest thing he ever did to me was on my first trip to the store. About early to mid afternoon as we were working an order, he looked at his watch and jumped up saying, GET OUT! get out now!! I didn’t know what to think. He was telling me to leave before the traffic on the roads got so bad I would be trapped for hours.
    A great guy, great times at lunch with him and your mother and as a customer that taught me a lot about the industry. We all miss him.
    mike

    • tjstallings says:

      Thanks Mike. I enjoyed him calling you “Larry”. That was his way of letting you into his club. Too funny! It was great to hear from you this week. Don’t be a stranger.

  6. Curtis says:

    I miss the old store and still have my rod and reel I bought over 30 years ago.I still fish Lake Conway and Underhill.God bless and keep a tight line.

    • TJ Stallings says:

      Cool. That’s proof that good tackle may cost a little more, but will pay off in the long run. Good luck on Conway and Underhill. Blessings, -TJ

  7. Sue Dannenmueller says:

    Beautiful letter to your Dad, I’m sure he is so very proud of you! Stay “absolutely TJ” !!!

  8. Sue Somerville Simpson says:

    Hey TJ! The Fathers Day letter was wonderful! So many of our Dads are no longer with us. I lost my Dad June 28, 2013. My kids lost their Dad August 4 2008. Happy Fathers Day to you and all the Dads out there.

Leave a comment