F.I.S.H.

O'Neill of O'Neill Outside TV, fishes for success.

O’Neill of
O’Neill Outside TV,
fishes for success.

Forecast the weather. If you can choose your days, then pick pre-frontal days. If you cannot pick your days, then go when you safely can. Remember, you cannot catch fish on the couch.

Investigate the waters. Mapping software will allow you to preplan your trip at home. Look for tight contour lines and structure. Try to find at least four of each. Look for cover on Google Earth.

Sort out a plan for various depths. Pack tackle to fish those zones, top to bottom. Think about shade in the summer and warm water in the winter.

Hammer the water. Change up lure colors. Look for bait. Look for birds. Keep your mind and eyes, wide open. The more effort you invest in your trip, the more fish you will catch. (or get back on that couch.)

Thanksgiving idea: Get on the phone Thursday and call one of your heroes. This may be someone serving our country. Perhaps the uncle that took you fishing or hunting. Give thanks to someone that has given you their time.
Blessings,
-tj

About TJ Stallings

45-year tackle industry veteran Marketing and Crazy Ideas at TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group (Home of Road Runner Lures and six hook brands including Tru-Turn, Daiichi, XPoint, Team Catfish, Mr. Crappie and StandOUT Hooks.) Home of Gun Protect. The opinions expressed in this blog are those of TJ Stallings and not necessarily those of TTI-Blakemore.
This entry was posted in Fishing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to F.I.S.H.

  1. richardmax22 says:

    We have a internet site where one can post or read fishing reports. One day I saw a report of an angler’s successful day of smallmouth fishing on a reservoir 15 minutes from my home. Since moving to my present home I had never fished it. So I simply wrote a comment to him, asking where he launched and the cost. He wrote back, not only answering my questions, but actually inviting me, a total stranger, to fish with him on this lake. We had a wonderful day. He even showed me some of his favorite places to fish, some off-shore and difficult to find. Bottom line he went above and beyond, something I don’t know if I would ever do. We are now friends, and fish together at least a half dozen times a year. And not this lake is one of my favorites. And I am going to take your suggestion and call him right now and remind him how much that first invitation meant to me.

Leave a Reply

