For them, the boat ride was more fun than the fishing.

Benjamin and Lily admire a crappie.

Benjamin and Lily admire a crappie.

The wind pushed the boat to and fro’. Fishing today would be some work. I quickly positioned the boat behind an island. I needed a plan “B”. The whitecaps on the lake resembled a washing machine.

I idled over to a large cove. The numerous small points and docks looked good. Whether they would bite would be a concern. An easterly wind has always been slow here.

Today was special. Grandchildren Benjamin and Lily were aboard. At ages, six and eleven, spider rigging could easily be a circus. I reduced the pole count from eight to six.

We began our first recon down along the break. Port poles would be 10-12 feet deep. Lily’s poles would troll in 7-9 feet of water. My hope was Benjamin would pick up crappie and catfish. Lily’s would be in the crappie and bluegill zone.

18-minnows later, we had two crappies. What bites there were, were extremely light. We began to work our way back. The wind showed no mercy as it whipped around the cove.

The kids donated another 24 minnows to missed fish. All those free meals reminded them they had skipped breakfast. It was time to go. They munched on potato chips as I buttoned down B’n’M Poles and stowed the Driftmaster Rod holders.

We met a head-on sea as we reached the main-lake. I backed down to 4000 RPM. I was thankful for the posh seats on the boat. The kids giggled and laughed all the way to the dock.

Blessings, -tj

About TJ Stallings

45-year tackle industry veteran Marketing and Crazy Ideas at TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group (Home of Road Runner Lures and six hook brands including Tru-Turn, Daiichi, XPoint, Team Catfish, Mr. Crappie and StandOUT Hooks.) Home of Gun Protect. The opinions expressed in this blog are those of TJ Stallings and not necessarily those of TTI-Blakemore.
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to For them, the boat ride was more fun than the fishing.

  1. Amber says:

    Any time I read these sorts of posts from anglers who have kids and grandkids, I stop to wonder how many times my dad and uncle patiently baited hooks, helped us reel, untangled line, and watched us basically throw away bait 🙂 Next time I talk to them I’ll have to ask. But I still lose minnows like nobody’s business.

  2. Good stuff TJ. I enjoy reading posts like this also. The kind that nudge a soul a bit and remind you that there is more than just fishing going on. Very cool dude!

    My elder brother and I took his grandson fishing last summer, in the hither lands of Wisconsin. We made all sorts of suggestions of what he should be tossing in the water but being a young fellow of 5 years old he had his own ideas. He walked up to me in the boat and asked me to tie on an goofy looking plastic frog like thing for him. Brother and I tried to talk him out of it, but he was going to do what he wanted it seems. So I tied it on for him. He gave forth a mighty cast. It went ten feet up in the air, ten feet down and about 5 feet out. Oh he’s got heart at least I thought. He proceeded of course, on the very cast, to catch a 2 1/2 pound small mouth like he knew he would all along. And I had to ask him if he had any more of them goofy green frog things…

    Fishing…Its so much more than catching fish.

  3. Jerry says:

    Time to make the greas stink and the fish smell good. Do love the saddle blankets…when I can get them. 😉

Leave a Reply

