Fish don’t smoke

Crappie don't smoke either

My eyes followed the cigarette butt as it hit the ground. The village idiot casually stepped on the butt. The Alabama River was just fifty-yards away. Clinching my fists, I walked on.

Sportsmen as a whole are the best conservationists in the world. However, we have our bad apples that pitch cigarette butts anywhere they stand. The irony is worse than a bitter pill. This is not a small problem. Made with cellulose acetate, a form of plastic, cigarette butts last over nine years. Some experts disagree and estimate 20-years. Each butt is like a little poison vial in the environment. According to our friends at Recycled Fish, “Used cigarette butts leach toxins that can disrupt micro-organisms. Toxins tend to work their way up. Help keep the toxins out of the food chain, dispose of your cigarette butts properly.”

The BoatUS Foundation reported a 63% decrease in cigarette litter around 43 marinas. These marinas participated in its 2010, Cigarette Litter Prevention Program.

A quote from Cigarettelitter.org says; “Each year more than 1 billion pieces of litter will accumulate on Texas highways. Of those, 13 percent are cigarette butts. That means 130 million butts will be tossed out in Texas alone this year.” -Texas Department of Transportation

If run-off is the biggest polluter for our lakes and rivers; then litter will certainly end up downstream.

Yes, I smoke and enjoy every one of them. Then I knock the fire off and pocket the butt. Do you know someone that litters cigarette butts? Share this blog with them ask if they care about our fisheries and the waters, they live in. Blessings, -TJ

About TJ Stallings

45-year tackle industry veteran Marketing and Crazy Ideas at TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group (Home of Road Runner Lures and six hook brands including Tru-Turn, Daiichi, XPoint, Team Catfish, Mr. Crappie and StandOUT Hooks.) Home of Gun Protect. The opinions expressed in this blog are those of TJ Stallings and not necessarily those of TTI-Blakemore.
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Fish don’t smoke

  1. Phil Junker says:

    Yeah, TJ. Good blog. May steal it and give you credit and use it in my weekly column.

    No fishing here in Indiana…just storms and more storms, followed by more rain and more rain. Know it is hot in Florida, but at least I could be dry part of the time. Oh well, it will end and I can battle the gills and crappie here.

    • TJ Stallings says:

      Thank you Phil. I’m flattered. Let me know if I may be of service my friend. My best wishes to you and your bride.

  2. Nice work, TJ – it’s a timely article.

    I grew up in a 5-pack-a-day household and I can tell you that not every one of those butts found their way into the landfill. There exist good hearted people who just don’t know any better … thanks for helping spread the good word, so people who didn’t know, do.

  3. kaisnut says:

    You said it best, when I finally get the time to go fishing, I cant enjoy myself until I’ve picked up all of the trash. By that point I’ve been the a few hours, and really kinda tired, so I dont really get alot of fishing in. I dont understand why people just want to litter? We(meaning all of us) have to protect what we have, if you want to be a damn dirty litter bug, then keep your butt at home.

Leave a Reply

