New friends and more fish on the Alabama River

Romero and Aleah's first Crappie

Shafts of light lit small holes in the early morning fog as we motored up river. Dan’s boat disappeared into the mist as I slowly followed. Heavy dew ran in small rivulets down the gunnels.

Dan and his guests continued on as I made my stop near a river bend. I began my ritual; pour some coffee, light a cigar and make a cast. The only sound I could hear was my sigh of relief to be on the Alabama River again.

Trees began to reveal their leaves of gold as the sun rose. I shrugged off my coat and cast again. I chucked as I “drove” my Road Runner around the sunken logs and limbs with my rod. A drop here, a rise there, a turn to the left, another drop and then a Crappie crushed the lure.

My “driving” would sometimes fail me and the lure would strike a limb. The hook on the original Road Runner is slightly under-tempered for a reason. A steady pull would free the lure from its hold. I’d simply re-bend the hook and continue fishing. While it only takes 10-pound line to do this on our 1/16th oz size lure; I prefer braided line for “combat fishing”.

After three more fish I made my way up river, to check on Dan’s progress. He and his friends Aleah and Romero had bagged ten keepers. They were spider-rigging with minnows. I continued to free cast and caught three more fish as we visited. The sun was pretty warm now and the Crappies* were sticking tight to the timber for shade.

We started to head back after I shot some photos. Dan lit up his Skeeter and raced in. I took my time and marked spots that were good to me this morning on the Hummingbird GPS.

We’re lucky to have such a beautiful fishery in our backyard and good friends to share them with. Blessings, -TJ

*I don’t agree with Webster’s Dictionary; I still think “Crappie” is plural.

I know it’s hard to believe that people want to take our right to fish away from us. Tennessee is about to vote about that God given right. Please visit: www.huntandfishtn.com for more information.

 

About TJ Stallings

45-year tackle industry veteran Marketing and Crazy Ideas at TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group (Home of Road Runner Lures and six hook brands including Tru-Turn, Daiichi, XPoint, Team Catfish, Mr. Crappie and StandOUT Hooks.) Home of Gun Protect. The opinions expressed in this blog are those of TJ Stallings and not necessarily those of TTI-Blakemore.
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

