I’ve moved to WordPress!

August 23rd, 2009

gary-smallFirst, I want to thank you all for reading my blog. The volume and security became an issue this past week so I had to move my blog to Word press.  I hope this has not caused you any inconvenience and you’ll continue to read. I don’t know what happened to the photo I uploaded for this article, hopefully it will “appear” soon. 😦

My travels carried me to the Music City Sheraton in Nashville, TN. (Beautiful place!)
We were blessed to attend the annual induction ceremony and banquet of the Legends of the Outdoors Hall of Fame.
Garry Mason is on to a good thing. He started the OLHF, to acknowledge the efforts of legendary outdoorsmen and women. This isn’t a “good ‘ole boys” club, but a place to recognize anglers, hunters, writers and guides that have worked hard to benefit and educate their fellow outdoor friends. Past inductees have a vote in who’s nominated for the next year.

This year’s inductee’s included: Gary Yamamoto, Rob Keck, Ms. Emily Shaffer, Mr. Jim Crumley, Mr. Eddie Salter, Mr. Terry Redlin, Mr. Toxey Haas, and Mr. Herb Parsons, post humously.

The acceptance speeches were typical for this event; I found myself either laughing out loud or wiping tears from my eyes. Learning more about these sportsmen’s love of God, Country and the outdoors is always inspiring. I must shoot out an “atta girl” to Brenda Valentine who was the host. She did one heck of a job. Valentine was the first women to be inducted into the OLHF and deservedly so. She’s another “sage character”.

As if the event wasn’t enough many of my friends were in attendance including Paul Alpers, and Tim Huffman of Crappiemasters, Steve Huber, Wally Marshall, Tom Moody, Chief Braswell, Bill Braswell and Dan-D, just to name a few. It was great to visit with them before the banquet started. I saw Wade Bourne and I regret we didn’t get to visit.

The TTI-Blakemore crew was there in force this year. The Campbell Clan (Wes, Kerry, Taira and Ryon) Brother Ron, Pam and my bride Doreen were able to go with me this year.

If you’ve not attended a Legends of the Outdoors Hall of Fame event, please log onto their website and see what it’s about. I hope to see you there at next year’s event.
Blessings, -TJ

About TJ Stallings

45-year tackle industry veteran Marketing and Crazy Ideas at TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group (Home of Road Runner Lures and six hook brands including Tru-Turn, Daiichi, XPoint, Team Catfish, Mr. Crappie and StandOUT Hooks.) Home of Gun Protect. The opinions expressed in this blog are those of TJ Stallings and not necessarily those of TTI-Blakemore.
This entry was posted in Fishing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’ve moved to WordPress!

  1. Don Gasaway says:

    I like the new look of the blog. Sorry that you had problems with the old one but this is an improvement. Keep up the good work and we will see you on down the shore.

    • tjstallings says:

      Thanks Don. I appreciate it!

      Blessings, TJ << TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group Home of Tru-Turn Hooks. Celebrating 50 Years of Hooking More Fish Visit: http://www.truturn50th.com for the story and FREE Hooks Rebate. TTI-Blakemore Fishing Group P.O. Box 1177 Wetumpka, AL 36092 Shipping: 100 Red Eagle Rd. Outdoor Writer Line: 1/800-421-5768 Proud member of AGLOW, FOWA, MOC, NOWA, POMA, SEOPA & TOWA.

Leave a Reply

